This is the required introductory security course that provides the security guard training necessary to work legally as an armed security guard in the State of North Carolina.
North Carolina Private Protective Services (NC PPS) will issue a license that will allow Students to begin working as a security guard upon completion of this course and successfully submitting the proper State application and required forms.
Students that complete the armed security guard training must renew their license annually.
Students may take this course prior to seeking employment. The attained certificate can be used for pre-employment certification that the required training has been completed.
The low-light course was developed to expose the concealed carry holder to the safe and proper use of the flashlight.
The low-light course will help develop student confidence and ability with handguns in day light and low light shooting situations along with proper threat/target identification.
The low-light course will help develop student confidence by also teaching proper threat/target identification.
The 6 hours Low-Light Handgun training course combines classroom and live fire range time with up to 300 plus rounds fired.
A handgun (caliber .380acp or .38 special and above) along with a holster molded to fit you handgun and belt.
(2) Extra magazines (or speed loaders).
350 rounds of ammunition.
Tactical Flashlight—2 cell at least—SureFire/ O Light/ Pelican/ Streamlight etc.
Conceal Carry garment.
Eye and ear protection.
Special Equipment: 10 rounds of your Personal Defense or Conceal Carry Ammunition for low light/no light course of fire.
For this course you must have completed the State issued Conceal Carry permit or completed the NRA Personal Protection in the Home or Personal Protection Outside the Home or Law Enforcement /US Military certification in Pistol or IDPA Sharpshooter or higher classification or and approved Advanced class training in Handgun. Students will be subject to approval for the course.
The North Carolina PPS mandates that applicants for armed security licenses must be at least 21 years of age, have no disqualifying criminal history, and be legally allowed to work in the United States.
Security Officers must attained valid unarmed license training in order to obtain the armed security license.
The issued certificate for successfully completing the NC PPSB Armed Security Training is valid for 3 months from the date of issue by the training facility.
A Licensing Fee must be paid directly to the North Carolina PPS. This fee is not included in the course price.