integrated-security-system-2

Licensing as a Security Guard in the “Sunshine State” of Florida is managed by the Florida Division of Licensing. In order to attain your armed Security Officer license you will have to complete state required armed Security Guard training in order to be hired by a licensed agency before appearing at the Division for processing. The armed Security Guard license must be renewed every 2 years and must be valid throughout your period of employment.

If you’ve determined that you would like to get your Florida armed security guard license here are the basic requirements to be met by the registrant:

  • Must be at least 21 years of age
  • Must file with the Division a complete application accompanied by an application fee.
  • Must provide a set of fingerprints on a standard FBI fingerprint card.
  • Must have a valid Social Security number.
  • Must not have been convicted of any Felony; and/or misdemeanor involving the act of theft, drug offenses, or moral turpitude.
  • Must meet and maintain the qualifications set and approved by the Division..

Some of the topics to be covered in the state required 28 hour Security Officer training course are:

  • Firearms Safety & Mechanics
  • Fundamentals of shooting
  • Civil Liability & Use of Force Issues
  • Use of deadly force
  • Handgun Marksmanship
  • Care and Maintenance of Firearms
  • Other required armed Security Guard Training

Class G licensee shall additionally submit proof that he or she has received during each year of the license period a minimum of 4 hours of firearms re-certification training and has complied with any other health and training requirements.

Florida is a great place to start your career and the first steps are your security guard license and security guard training. Become a vital part of the community – with our Florida Security Jobs Board, you’ll see how many doors proper security licensing can open.

Fees:
$154.00

Licensing Body:
Florida Division of Licensing

Law:
Florida State Statutes Chapter 493
Florida State Statutes Chapter 790
Florida State Statutes Chapter 776