Licensing as a Security Guard in the “First State” Delaware is managed by the Delaware State Police. In order to attain your armed Security Officer license you will have to complete state required Security Guard training and be hired by a licensed agency before appearing at DSP for processing. The armed Security Guard license must be renewed every 5 years and must be valid throughout your period of employment.
If you’ve determined that you would like to get you Delaware unarmed security guard license here are the basic requirements to be met by the registrant:
- Must be at least 21 years of age
- Must provide to employer a set of fingerprints on a standard FBI fingerprint card.
- Must not have been convicted of any Felony; and/or misdemeanor involving the act of theft, drug offenses, or moral turpitude.
- If the applicant served in the armed forces, must not have been discharged other than honorable conditions.
- Must meet and maintain the qualifications set and approved by the Board of Examiners.
- Private Security Guards must have completed the mandatory sixteen hours of security guard training and 16 hour exam and pass with a minimum of 75% prior to appearing at DSP for processing.
Some of the topics to be covered in the state required 40 hour Security Officer training course are:
- Equipment issue and care
- Fundamentals of shooting
- Range exercise
- Kneeling and prone positions
- Use of deadly force
- Hand gun retention
- Other required armed Security Guard Training
Delaware is a great place to start your career and the first steps are your security guard license and security guard training. Become a vital part of the community – with our Delaware Security Jobs Board, you’ll see how many doors proper security licensing can open.
Delaware State Police